Adele’s 25: I Miss You

Lyrics:

I want every single piece of you
I want your heaven and your oceans too
Treat me soft but touch me cruel
I wanna teach you things you never knew, baby
Bring the floor up to my knees
Let me fall into your gravity
Then kiss me back to life to see
Your body standing over me

Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Lights go down lights go down
Lights go down lights go down
Down down down

[2x:]
I miss you when the lights go out
It illuminates all of my doubts
Pull me in, hold me tight, don’t let go
Baby, give me light

I love the way your body moves
Towards me from across the room
Brushing past my every groove
No one has me like you do, baby
Bring your heart I’ll bring my soul
But be delicate with my ego
I want to step into your great unknown
With you and me setting the tone

Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Baby, don’t let the lights go down
Lights go down lights go down
Lights go down lights go down
Down down down

[2x:]
I miss you when the lights go out
It illuminates all of my doubts
Pull me in, hold me tight, don’t let go
Baby, give me light

We play so dirty in the dark
Cause we are living worlds apart
It only makes it harder, baby
It only makes it harder, baby
Harder, baby harder, baby harder, baby harder, baby

[2x:]
I miss you when the lights go out
It illuminates all of my doubts
Pull me in, hold me tight, don’t let go
Baby, give me light

Thoughts:

Every time this song comes up, I think about how it should be on the next 50 Shades of Grey movie soundtrack. It’s clearly very sensual/sexual, but, if taken in the context of the other songs on the album, it’s also a huge change from “Send My Love (To Your New Lover)”. Now, Adele is openly missing the person, while acknowledging some of the negative parts of their relationship.

There’s something to be said about the double meaning of the lights going down. On the one hand, people tend to have sex with the lights down and sex is clearly a major part of this song. On the other hand, being in the dark “illuminates” all the doubts she’s having. It’s a great little paradox she puts in the song and I think it works because it actually works in real life too.

Lying in bed at night is when I do most of my thinking, thus illuminating all of my doubts, concerns, worries, and stresses from the previous day and the days to come. And yet there’s also something very satisfying about that time of the day. Admittedly, I can’t relate to all the experiences voiced in the song, but I think it’s certainly evocative of the physical/emotional passion and yet psychological anguish that’s present in a lot of relationships, not just sexual/romantic ones.

Grade: B+

Another strong song, but definitely not the strongest on the album.

Leave a Reply

