Settling In

Today, I ate at a restaurant in my neighborhood.

I haven’t eaten out much in my neighborhood since I’ve been here. Don’t get me wrong, I eat out all the time, but it’s usually take out and I rarely step foot in a restaurant around town. But a few days ago I walked past a crepe place.

I love crepes. And earlier this week I had talked to a friend about hanging out. So I texted her and we went out to get crepes.

We’ve only hung out a few times, but each time has been pretty cool. I feel like I’m settling into some sort of friendship with her. At the same time, I feel like I’m finally settling into my neighborhood. And generally, I feel like I’m settling into life.

That’s not to say I’m not stressed. I’m pretty stressed pretty often with school work, job searches, and the possibility of moving. But on the other hand, I feel like I’m just now starting to get a grasp of things. I feel like I’m just now starting to think differently about how a friendship should look. It feels like I’m just now starting to discover what’s been all around me for the past year. And it feels like I’m moving into a rhythm.

It’s cool, I haven’t felt this settled in a while. I’m always shocked by any feeling of security that may overcome me. Most of the time, I’m worried that I’m failing in some way but right now, I don’t feel that way. I feel pretty secure in the way life is going. Even in spite of all the less awesome stuff (like taking a a German translation exam that didn’t go well), things feel ok. In fact, things feel pretty good. So I’m pretty happy about that.

DJP

Leave a Reply

