Success

“We were married for eighteen years before he fucked around and I caught him. But I’d say it was a very successful marriage. We raised two kids. I don’t think something has to last forever to be successful.”

This is the quote associated with a picture on the Humans of New York FB page. The picture is of a woman, probably in her early to mid-thirties. For some reason, her last statement really sticks with me.

I don’t know if I agree with her – I guess I’m ambivalent at this point – but it is something worth thinking about. How do we measure success?

I don’t know. And honestly, at this point, I don’t think I could even do the thinking required to answer this question. But it’s a question I think about a lot, especially when I consider that I’m about to really begin my career and that I’m constantly moving forward in my life, whether I want to admit it or not. Soon I’ll have to confront my idea of success and decide exactly what it means and what it looks like.

Basically, I just wanted to share this quote  from the HONY page.

Leave a Reply

