Real Life

The world is scarier than it’s ever been. Wars happen all around us and we remain oblivious to the reality of life.

Sometimes, I sit in my room and lament the state of the world. I’m sure I’m not the only one or the first one to ever do it. I think back to Jeremiah, the weeping prophet, and there I find a moment of solace. But then I ask myself the question my friend asked the other day, “How much longer will Africa be on the bottom?”

This question was in the context of world soccer but she meant it for everything. Her thought was that if some African nation could at least dominate in the soccer arena, then Africa would start to move up in the world’s eyes.

I’m not African (as I’m often quick to remind people. Slavery was/is a real thing) but I do feel that her statement can be appropriated and used for all black people, not just Africans.

I just read this article about the Michael Brown shooting in Ferguson, Missouri. It’s sad. It’s sad that the author’s point is that America – a country home to many black men and women – isn’t “for black people”. It’s not just sad for black men. It’s sad for black women, black children, white men, white women, Asian men, Asian women, Hispanic men, Hispanic children and really all Americans everywhere. It’s sad because a country that touts freedom as its number one claim to fame is still subjugating so many of its people. It’s sad because when CNN and FOX News talk about wars, destruction, and fear in disparate parts of the world, they sometimes forget that many people in this country deal with the same things. It’s sad because even though I realize these things are happening in the country I call home – a country I’m proud to call home – I don’t really understand just how bad it is. 

I know it’s hard to be black in America. I know this not only because I am black and I’m American but also because I’ve talked to people from different places and know how other people view black Americans. And it’s sad. And sometimes it hurts. It’s kind of like Psalm 13. Or Habakkuk 1. Or the entire book of Lamentations

It makes me think of Malcolm X and all the black Muslims in Philly. Why serve a Christian God who is content to let your people be constantly subjected, subjugated and diminished? Why read a Bible whose words seem to be able to justify slavery? Why follow a religion that was forced upon you by oppressors and colonizers? I would say the only solace is knowing Jesus went through the same stuff but then I would be lying because I don’t take solace in that right now. I just lament.

Leave a Reply

