Phone Calls

People never call each other on the phone anymore.

That’s not exactly true. I call my family all the time. But when it comes to talking with my friends, we never spontaneously call each other. I guess life is a little harder when people have really different schedules but I like calling people and knowing they’re gonna pick up and have a few minutes to talk to me.

When I was in middle school and high school I would sometimes call my mom at work and we would chat for a little while. For some reason that’s making me a bit teary-eyed (idk, I just love my mom). Usually I would call her for some reason (we didn’t just talk randomly), but I never realized until now how cool it was to be able to just talk with my mom.

I would say the same about my dad, but he’s not very good on the phone. I think it scares him.

Anyway, I wish people just called each other more. I guess now the equivalent to a spontaneous call is a spontaneous text. Don’t get me wrong, those are fun, it’s just not the same. It’s not the same as hearing someone’s voice and wasting hours talking about everything and nothing.

Sometimes, I think my ideas of fun are too fanciful for my life. That doesn’t make sense. I just wish…

Leave a Reply

