Bestiessssss

Since I’ve been back home, I’ve gone to my home church a lot recently. Had this been a year ago, or even a few months ago, I would not have liked the idea of going. Now I feel the opposite.

The reason I didn’t like the idea of going is the same reason for why I enjoy being there now: the people.

There’s a girl there who has taken to calling me her bestie. I don’t have a huge problem with that because I know she doesn’t mean it and even if she did it wouldn’t matter. But sometimes I do think about it. Since God has clearly been hitting me over the head with friendship stuff over the past few years, I try to take notice when friend related things happen. In all honesty though, I don’t spend much time thinking about best friends. I guess I used to but not so much anymore.

I think the reason I don’t think much about besties is because that doesn’t feel super relevant to me right now. Right now, other friendship things seem much more important. I’m also becoming less and less taken with labels and categories, especially since this one is so overused. I don’t know. Names have always been really important to me so it’s a bit disheartening to learn they aren’t equally important to other people.

Anyway, I don’t actually dislike it when Ciara (obvs a codename) calls me her bestie. Even though I know she doesn’t know me well enough to stake that sort of claim on our relationship, it’s not such a big deal. When I think about it, is there anyone, outside of my family, who could stake that claim? And could I do the same with them?

I guess the real reason I don’t care though is because I actually could see myself one day being besties with Ciara. I just think that something as sacred and intimate as a bestfriendship may take a little more than a week to build and discover.

But who knows???

In any case, that would not be an unwelcome addition to my life.

DP

Leave a Reply

