You Never Really Know Anyone

When my mom said this to me a few years ago, I lamented her cynicism. I knew my mom and dad, my brother and sis, my closest friends, basically everyone important. Now a few years later I find myself finally able to agree with her statement.

The most unfortunate truth about humanity is that we people are built for community – to know others and be known by them – and yet we can never fully do that. And more often than not, when we truly start to think that we know someone, they do something we would never even expect.

That’s how life is. That’s how people are.

Yet, the most beautiful truth about humanity is that we can be known by someone. Not only known but infinitely loved. It’s true, you may never truly know anyone but it’s also true that you are known by someone and to me that seems even better.

Leave a Reply

