Israel FTW

I was going to write a nice post about Tom Brady, Tim Tebow, and the Patriots but that may just have to wait. Instead, I’m going to vent a little bit.

Generally, I vent to someone instead of this blog but my brother and sister are both at work, Earnestine is in Prague/Berlin, and basically there’s no one around for me to talk to right now. So here goes.

On days like this one, I am reminded of the fact that I need to get out of my parents’ house ASAP. When preparing for an interview today, I put on a dress that I think is cute and whatevs. I should preface the rest of this by admitting that I did wake up on the wrong side of the bed today. Anyway, I’ve been wearing the dress for a few hours and before my mom and dad leave, my mom decides to comment on it. I think this is just her thing. She loves choosing the last possible moment to talk to someone about something important/offensive. Thanks mom.

So she proceeds to tell me about how that dress isn’t appropriate for the interview and I need to change. It was just one of those things that was so frustrating. I wasn’t going to change the dress but the reason I did was actually self-interest. I figured if wearing the outfit she wanted me to wear was the price to pay for getting a job and moving out of my parents’ house, it would be worth it.

Honestly, it’s not as big a deal as I make it seem. My parents have done a lot for me and my bro and sis. It’s just one of those very irksome things.

The funny thing is, the interview did end up going well. So well, in fact, that I’m conflicted. On the one hand, working at this place would be as close as I could get to a dream(ish) job right out of college. On the other hand, it’s part-time which makes things pretty difficult. Part-time leaves more time for me to do my own thing, meet new people, learn new skills, hang with friends, read books, do all the fun things ever and basically live the life I always wanted post-college, but it also means I can’t even consider living alone (wouldn’t make enough money) and I’d always be kind of poor (no healthcare, 401K, IRA and other benefits either).

I know that this is the best time of my life to work a part-time job that I love because I don’t know if I’d ever get to do it and because I don’t really know what I want to do now. Plus, this job would let me travel and that’s awesome. The president of the company, with whom I interviewed (it’s a very small company), had just come back from a trip to Israel. Israel is great! I feel like I need to be there right now. I even looked for some job postings at the Israel Museum but I couldn’t find anything. Maybe he’d take me on a trip to Israel! I don’t know. These are things that I don’t really need to consider yet. Plus, if I do ever have to consider them, I’m sure God will make the answer clear to me.

Good venting sesh.

2 thoughts on “Israel FTW

    1. LOL, you’re only internet-here. Don’t worry, I’ll do all the venting when I bother you in your apt every day in September. And you are a creep. I’m glad you know. And I haven’t been offered the job yet (but thanks for the prayer :)))! <——-That's a double chin smiley.

Leave a Reply

