We Live in a ProcrastiNation

I just really wanted to put that title. I don’t know why.

Since I’m getting ready to kind of leave for the semester I thought I should write about things I wish I had done this year but didn’t. It’s not a list of regret, just late appreciation.

Hang out with cool people more. Don’t get me wrong, I certainly hung out with cool people this year. And generally I don’t like to spread myself too thing by spending time with lots of people. But I wish I had spent just a bit more time with some cool people that I got to know better at different parts of the semester. I would have talked with Brenda more, I would have listened to Faith more, I would have spent more of my free time with JMac. Natalie, Steph and I would have watched much more Arrested Development and life would have been even better. There’s this quote from The Office series finale (a show I don’t think is that funny) that I thought was interesting. A character said, “I wish you could know you were in the good old days before you left them”. I think I knew it was the good old days, as much as I believe that’s a thing, I just wasn’t able to figure out who I should spend them with. I think I invested in at least one or two lasting friendships but how much more could I have talked to those people I mentioned before.

Taken another Greek class. I wish I had taken Greek. Instead, I did two Latin classes. They were both good courses and they highly informed my thesis but I wish I had done Greek instead. That way I wouldn’t have to tell people I’m “fluent” in Latin and I kind of know Greek.

Started my thesis earlier. When I was a non-senior, I always thought I would start my thesis super early especially in junior year when I started my JPs both pretty early. Instead, I didn’t start doing major work on my thesis until about 2 months before it was due. Of course is got done and I thought it went pretty well but I think it would have been even better had I started earlier.

Gone to more events. I actually did make a concerted effort to go to more events this year. Still I wish I had gone to even more!

Spent more time in prayer. Because the times that I did spend in prayer were mostly perfunctory and the other times were just moments of desperation. The times I did spend just approaching God and basking in his glory were the absolute best times, I just didn’t do that a lot.

Thought more. This may sound weird because normally I hear that I think too much. I wish I had spent more of my time thinking about people though. Thinking about what they needed. Or even thinking about life and school and those deep philosophical questions. I didn’t think about those things enough. I just thought a lot about myself, how I felt, what I was doing, what my calling was, why I was experiencing something. I wish I had thought about other things and people more.

Come to terms with post-grad life sooner. This is something that I’ve really started to come to terms with in the last few days/weeks and its been amazing so I wish I had figured this stuff out sooner! I don’t think I ever really thought about what it would mean to start this new phase of my life. Or, I think I always thought of it as a sad/bad thing. It’s only recently that I’ve started to see it as a really exciting thing.

Spent more time alone. I wasted a lot of time doing things with people just so that I wouldn’t have to do things by myself. Don’t get me wrong, people are great and I always enjoyed those things, I just wish I was more like my roommate in some regards. She’s totally content alone. I think there were a lot of times I needed to be alone this year but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. There were more times when I needed to confront something that God was showing me about myself I just didn’t want to. I think I often enjoyed the prospect of being alone but I never actually spent much time alone. I never rested. I just numbed myself.

So this was my way of procrastinating. I just don’t feel like packing right now. Plus, now Ravonne wants to watch a movie so I figured I should pretend to be doing something important instead.

Hopefully, this week I’ll be able to do #5,6, and 8 more. If not this week, I have the whole rest of my life ahead of me :).

Leave a Reply

