Thesis Update: The Real World

I’m starting to work today on actual pages, hoping I can get 3-5 done. It’s a definite possibility if I keep going at this pace.

Being a second semester senior, it’s hard not to think about life after graduation and the “real world” – in fact, we’re urged to think about just that. So today as I’ve been doing more thesis research and watching TV on the web, I’m reminded of how scary the thought of the real world can be.

It’s true, I’ve applied to grad schools, but it’s also true that I’m not guaranteed entry into any of them (I’ve learned that the hard way). I really do appreciate my family’s optimism about that kind of stuff but I don’t feel quite so sure about it. I don’t think I couldn’t/can’t get in, I’m just not going to start planning my life as a graduate student.

I was talking to my friend about this over the weekend, this sense of dread/uncertainty about the future. It really gets to me sometimes. It’s not that I don’t know it’ll all work out, I just wonder how it’ll work out. I wonder about a lot of things. Maybe all of them aren’t appropriate to share in this space though.

It’ll be interesting to see how this all plays out.

Leave a Reply

