25 Things to Do Before I’m 25

I’m not much for New Year’s resolutions but as a way to procrastinate writing this paper (and because I actually have been thinking about this), I’ll post this. It’ll be a running list, since I don’t have 25 yet.

1. Go to Europe, Egypt, and Israel. I really want to see Egypt and some other parts of Europe and I really loved being in Israel so I want to go back.

2. Buy a car. So I can go on road trips without having to ask my parents to borrow their car.

3. Write a screenplay. It doesn’t have to be good, I just always told myself I’d write a screenplay so I want to finally do it.

4. Make a Mother’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, any day really, rap. Because we’ve been saying we would for almost two years now. This is a travesty.

5. Watch the movies put on my Netflix queue. Because my brother and sister put a bunch of stuff on there too but I don’t really want to watch Felicity.

6. Do something I’ve always been too scared/nervous/realistic to do. It will either end up in my successful acting/NFL owner/business owner career or a really great story to tell my future grandkids.

7. Be less scared. This isn’t the same as #6. After I got my first rejection letter a few minutes ago I felt that horrible feeling in my stomach. Admittedly, this isn’t the top school on my list. In fact, the main reason it’s on my list is because my best friend lives (kind of) nearby. But what this letter represents scares me so much. The idea that no school wants me or that I’ll have no plans for after graduation is so scary I almost cried. Fortunately, the fact that my roommate is in my room right now and I don’t want to cry in front of her made me have to save face. I don’t want to be this afraid of life when I’m 25. I want to be stronger or at least better at accepting my own weaknesses.

8. Be more honest. Not because I lie all the time, I just want to be a more honest person.

9. Go on a road trip. I don’t just mean driving to some place and then having a vacation, though that can be fun, I’m talking about driving across the country, stopping at various cities for a day or so, and continuing to drive with no particular destination in mind.

10. Learn to play the guitar. ‘Nuff said.

11. Become a worship leader. This one is totally related to the previous one. I would love to one day lead a congregation into worship. In reality, I’ve always had a desire to do this but I’ve always been to shy/nervous/scared to actually do it. So this is basically the combination of 6, 7, and 10.

12. Learn 2 more languages. The benefit of being a Classics major is that I’ve had to learn two new languages since I’ve been here. The disadvantage of being a Classics major is that I’ve had to learn two dead language since I’ve been here.

13. Become a good bakerBecause who doesn’t love baked goods?!

14. Be available. I’d love for my legacy to be that I was available when my friends and family needed me most. I’d love to start building that legacy by the time I’m 25.

Leave a Reply

