Soul Mates

“The soul of Jonathan was knit to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul.” 1 Samuel 18:1b

Reading this verse reminds me of what can exist in close friendships.

I very much do believe in soul mates, though some people are turned off by that phrase. For me, a soul mate is exactly what’s described in this OT verse. Whenever I read this, I’m struck by the close friendship that existed between David and Jonathan and I desire so much to be the type of friend that Jonathan was. It’s just so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

