Option 1: Travel the World

One of the options I’m considering for a gap year is a year of travel. The idea of traveling the world is super exciting so I’m looking into different ways of doing it.

Option 1: Just travel the world

Pros: This is a pretty sweet option. I could go anywhere, do anything, meet randos, have a good time, and have good stories to tell my future children.

Cons: It would cost some moolah, I could meet scary randos, I might have a horrible time (though that’s kind of unlikely)

Option 2: Missions trip

Pros: I’m not much of a missions trip type of person (whatever that means) so it would certainly take me out of my comfort zone

Cons: I’m not much of a missions trip type of person (whatever that means) so it would certainly take me out of my comfort zone

Yeah, it’s the same pro and con.

Now, to expand on the pros and cons of these options. 

Traveling the world, in any capacity, is almost always a pro. The experiences I’d have, the things I’d learn, the people I’d meet, are honestly enough to get me to go this route. Factor in a talk I heard from Lorri a few months back about going on a missions trip and you get the perfect reason to spend my gap year abroad. Of course, there are general cons too.

Going abroad for a year means a year away from my family, friends, and basically everything I care deeply about. For me, that’s the scariest con there can be. My mind immediately goes to the possibility of losing touch, not so much with my family, but with my friends. I think of how hard it is to go a day without talking to my best friend and then I imagine doing that for a year. That’s brutal.

Of course, that’s not a good thing. One of my biggest sins/shortcomings/struggles is that I idolize relationships. So even though I can objectively see the benefit of separating myself from that idol in some way, I can’t help but think about how painful that separation would be. The fact that this verse keeps popping into my mind isn’t helpful either because I feel like God is just reminding me of how wrong my ‘cons’ are:

Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.

And this one:

If anyone comes to me and does not hate his own father and mother and wife and children and brothers and sisters, yes, and even his own life, he cannot be my disciple.

Strugs.

 

Pax Christi,

DJP

Leave a Reply

