The Future

I’ve spent countless hours thinking about my future. I wonder what I’ll do, who I’ll marry, what my friends will be like, what my family will be like, what I’ll be like. Recently, I’ve been thinking about my plans and my options and my desires.

For the past few days, I’ve been thinking long and hard about what my plans are for next year. Do I want to go to grad school now or do I want to take a year off and do something else? I’m slowly becoming more attracted to the latter option, for various reasons, so I’m looking into one-year fellowship opportunities. I’m also just thinking about how I would want to spend a year of my life before diving back into academics.

Talking to a friend the other day on the way to a football game, I remembered how important a year can be. Though I never would have even considered taking a gap year before undergrad, I look back now and think of how useful it might have been. So when I look ahead now, I think about how one year would benefit me. I don’t want to spend the next 5-7 years doing school the way I’ve done it for the past 15 years: cruising by, slightly unmotivated, relying on some innate talent. I don’t want to waste the next few years of my life.

Still, when I think about what a gap year could be for me, I can’t help but think of some of my apprehensions as well. I have so many apprehensions. So I’m researching, praying, applying, praying, and then praying some more. Instead of including all my thoughts in this one post, I’ll make the next few about this topic, since it’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while.

Let the fun begin!

 

Pax Christi,

DJP

Leave a Reply

