Agree to Disagree

Today I was talking to my roommate about an organization that she’s not a huge fan of but I’m pretty involved in. It was hard because we’ve had these conversations before and it always gets annoying. She sees problems in the ministry, as do I, but instead of trying to change them she just removes herself from the organization and cites the problems as the reason. We had a somewhat tense conversation about it that left me a little upset with her. In my mind, she was acting really immature, while I’m sure she thought I was seeming completely brainwashed.

I thought about the situation after our discussion and I realized that it was a familiar one to me. Not even a year ago, I left another organization for similar reasons – I didn’t agree with where it was going and I didn’t feel like I could help it along. Now, I’m at the other end of the table: I see the issues and I truly believe that they can be changed. So any way I look at this situation, I’m wrong. Either I’m wrong now for being annoyed with my roommate’s decision or I was wrong 1 year ago for abandoning ship. Most importantly, I don’t know what to do about it either way.

I’m still trying to figure out a way to be right on both counts. I’m failing :/.

 

Sanguine Christi,

DJP

P.S. That final emoticon reminds me of the cookie monster.

Leave a Reply

