My Worst Realized Skill

Today I got a chance to make some money by helping out a family friend at a workshop her school was having. Originally, she asked me to teach a class on college and SAT prep but then she asked me to instead help out the coordinator. This is when I realized how unskilled I am at menial labor.

Admittedly, the first half of this summer was spent with me doing menial labor. It was an easy task so I never got the chance to notice how bad I was at it. It wasn’t until today that I realized just how unskilled I am at the more simple tasks in life.

Let me explain why I’m so bad at it. If I were a company or business plan, I’d have a high start up capital but then a really low cost for continuing the operation. Or if you compared me to an object on a table, I’d have a high coefficient of static friction but of course once an object is in constant motion there is no force needed to maintain said motion. That’s how I am with basic tasks. When you initially ask me to do a task, it takes a while for me to understand exactly what my job is and how to do it. Sometimes I get confused about who to report to or where to go. But once I’m doing the task, I’m on autopilot. It’s not hard for me to keep doing something I’m already doing. I do it almost mindlessly.

Of course, this isn’t the case with every task I undertake. It seems like it’s only true with basic tasks. When it comes to school work, it takes me a while to start but it’s also really hard to continue. I guess it’s only true with tasks that require very little brainpower. Sometimes it’s frustratingly hard to get me started.

When I think about it, it’s pretty funny.

PC,

DJP

Leave a Reply

