Maawage

Today, I had the privilege of going to my friend’s wedding. IT WAS AWESOME! This was the first wedding of a friend I’ve been to (I went to an older cousin’s wedding before) and it was so beautiful. There were a lot of fun things to do like catch the bouquet or do the electric slide (a staple, of course) but it also made me really happy and excited for what could be (e.g., my best friend crumping at my wedding). 

The best man gave an interesting speech – including lines like, “I’ve never been soft a day in my life”, after being accused of getting emotional. Still, one of the things he mentioned was the truth about marriage and the part that makes it so exciting but scary at the same time. He said that he was glad his brother found someone he’s decided to share the highs and lows of life with, as one. It’s the last part that makes marriage so compelling.

The idea of sharing highs and lows of life with someone isn’t actually too scary. It’s really the only way to live life. That’s what I do with my family and my friends everyday and it’s usually pretty carefree. But the idea of doing all those things as one, that’s the part that’s so crazy. When I make a decision about my life I consult whomever I want but I don’t have to consult anyone. When you’re married that changes completely.

For me, that sounds like one of the coolest things in the world. Granted, I don’t know all the work that goes  into a marriage. I don’t know how hard it is, I don’t know how much persistence it takes, and I don’t know how such a huge change would affect my life. But I do know that marriage is so much more of a blessing than anything else. And it’s one of the greatest blessings we have the opportunity to experience. 

Not to mention marriage as a model of the Trinity. So good.

 

Amor Christi,

DJP

Leave a Reply

