Priorities

This past Friday, the biggest movie of the year finally hit theaters. Obviously, it was a pretty exciting event (though it was also devastating) and people went out in droves to see the much anticipated film. I was really excited about it too since I’m a fan of Christopher Nolan and I’ve really enjoyed the two previous Batman films.

So, in preparation for the film, I decided it would be appropriate to buy The Dark Knight and watch Batman Begins, just to refresh my memory. I spent about 5 hours watching Batman movies just to remember the basic story and reacquaint myself with the many characters. It was a great time and it really helped since I saw the final movie last night (which was really awesome). But yesterday as I was watching the final film, I couldn’t help but think about all the time I put into those movies for some fleeting sense of enjoyment while there were other parts of my life I was just letting go by.

Obviously, that epiphany was no surprise considering the title of this post and I don’t purport to have the most revolutionary discoveries. But I still think it’s something to think and care about. It may even be something to worry about. Overall, I spent around 8 hours of my life over a 3-day period watching movies and becoming invested in characters, plots, subplots, villains, etc. That amounts to more than 2.5 hours a day. On the other hand it wasn’t until the end of my Batman binge that I realized I hadn’t even taken my Bible out of my bookbag since my trip. And I haven’t really spent a consistent amount of time in prayer since I’ve been home.

I’m all for entertainment, I really am. I own an Xbox and play it every so often and I go to the movies a few times a month over the summer. I like to listen to music (though I’ve already discussed my music tastes and they don’t really include much pop or anything on the iTunes Top Ten list right now). Sometimes I watch tv and I’m a pretty consistent Youtube user. But for some reason we value these visual and auditory forms of entertainment over spending time with God. Or at least I do. And for me it’s gotten to the point where it’s pretty embarrassing, even shameful.

It’s a problem I’ve always had and I don’t think it will go away over night but it’s one I wish I thought about more. But honestly, it’ll take more than thinking for a change to occur and for me that’s a little harder to accept.

For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal. – 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

Sanguine Christi,

DJP

Leave a Reply

