Can You Do Me A Favor?

That is my least favorite question.

I don’t know when I first started hating that question but I do know that regardless of when the hatred began, it continues to flourish even now.

But why do I hate that question? I’m glad you asked!

For a while, the idea of commitment really scared me. I wouldn’t go so far as to call myself a commitment-phobe but I also didn’t think highly of my ability to one day settle down. I definitely thought I’d be a bit of a rolling stone in my relationships. In any case, I think this fear of that question might stem from my previous feelings towards commitment.

The question is rarely rhetorical. Though there have been times when people have said this to me as a lead-in to a question, more often they say it and await a response. And part of me shies away from the practice of agreeing to things before knowing what those things are a.k.a. committing.

Admittedly, even as I type this, I’m becoming aware of the fact that I don’t always negatively react to this question. It’s very much dependent upon who’s asking. Usually, if it’s a close friend or family member the answer is yes but if it’s anyone else I trust less, there may not even be a response. But my worst response comes when God is asking the question.

When God asks me to do Him a favor, a huge part of me actually wants to run the other way. I think this is partially because of the way my brain works, in that I often over think things. But that’s a whole other blog post. Suffice it to say, I sometimes approach God the same way I approach people I don’t completely trust. I treat Him as if His plan is to set me up for failure or make me do something because He doesn’t want to do it. Sometimes, people can be like that. But God is never like that.

One of the verses that has really been looping through my head recently is John 14:1. It’s something that I definitely haven’t yet mastered but it feels good right now. I don’t know exactly how to explain that. It just feels good to know.

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

SC,

DJP

Leave a Reply

